Suffolk High Sheriff Awards

About the High Sheriff Awards

An annual celebratory ‘Awards Event’ is held in Suffolk to showcase the amazing work done by Suffolk’s charitable sector. At this event, those who have been successful in receiving a grant from the High Sheriff’s Fund are also recognised.

Projects funded from the High Sheriff’s Fund must demonstrate they are tackling:

Bullying, vandalism, arson, anti-social behaviour, community cohesion, drug and alcohol abuse and awareness, homelessness, internet safety, Knife crime, personal safety, road safety,

Each year, the High Sheriff takes on the personal responsibility for growing the Fund, which depends on charitable donations from the general public. The income from this endowment fund supports local community and voluntary activities now and in the future.

The 2023 High Sheriff Awards and Annual Review

Watch Jamie’s speech from the event

Hosted by Jamie Lowther-Pinkerton, The 2022-2023 High Sheriff Awards, was for the first time, combined with our Annual Review event at Trinity Park and was kindly sponsored by Birketts, East Anglian Daily Times, Suffolk Building Society and Rathbones.

Financial support of over £40K was shared between 13 local charities and community groups including the four award winners, Access Community Trust, Emmaus, Gatehouse and Suffolk Refugee Support.

In tribute to the winner and charity sector as a whole Jamie said:

“I’ve been humbled at how generous volunteers are with their time and I’ve seen what an incredibly important contribution they make to people’s lives in Suffolk. They are really the glue in our communities that provides so much positivity and hope.”

The 2023 High Sheriff Award winners

Find out more about the 4 award winners – Access Community Trust, Emmaus, Gatehoue and Suffolk Refugee Support.

Emmaus Suffolk

Access Community Trust


Suffolk Refugee Support

See previous years High Sheriff Awards

Edward Creasey


Hosted by Edward Creasy

Find out more about the 2022 awards here.

Bridget McIntyre


Hosted by Bridget McIntyre

Find out more about the 2021 awards here.

Roz Emminson


Hosted by Roz Emminson

Find out more about the 2020 awards here.